Walking in Memphis

There is so much to see in this city…
I have been here for 11 years and people always tell me, there is nothing to do in Memphis. I really think they are not looking for it, I think they are not exploring the city where they live.

Spending 3hrs with someone on a Saturday morning at 8am is not normal but it was rewarding, I got to learn a lot from my friend, Joey, and we got to see what Memphis looks like before everyone wakes up.

We discovered a lot of random buildings and their random stories. Well, again who am I to write a story about these things. I will leave the writing to the guy behind Midtown.Middle Class.Medium Rare, he’ll make you think, cry and laugh all in one sitting. I am just the guy with a camera taking the pictures.

This is a building that hasn’t been used in years. The Pyramid, closed back in 2004, a fun fact about it, the Memphis Pyramid is the 6th tallest pyramid in the world. Notice anyone famous in this picture?…of course Elvis would be in Memphis.

There is no telling what you can find in random allies in the city, an abandoned car, I couldn’t tell you the brand but I am loving the color.

We even found an old fire truck. This picture is part of the Fire Museum of Memphis.

These photos are part of the safari that Joey and I took together a couple of weeks ago, he has some more on his blog, See.

I am not very good when it comes to writing about something, that’s why in a lot of my post I have very little to say, but even if you are not good at writing get out there look for the things you like in Memphis and take a picture, a mental note of the cool, pretty or just plain odd things you can find.

-A

5 thoughts on “Walking in Memphis

  1. Oh, I love this! And don’t say you can’t write. Do you know I hear your voice and I’ve never “heard your voice.” If that makes sense to non-writers. Anyway… I hear you speaking with an accent. The accent of your native tongue. If I’m not correct… well, don’t sue me. You give just the right amount of voice to your photos. Oh, and you did a great job with the new layout of the blog, and of course, I love the photos, especially the Pyramid (and Elvis included).

  2. Ha ha… my grandmother can’t hear you and already knows you’re a crazy foreigner! Love it! Your pics are beautiful. When we have our real smiles on and our kiddos are behaving, you’ll have to take some pics for us. 😉

  3. Great job on the photos! I’m impressed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

