Make Pork Not War

Since I started going to festivals and competitions that involve any kind of food or cooking, I’ve thought it would be cool to be in a tent or at least know someone in one. To see what goes on behind the scenes.

Well, this past weekend I went to the Southern Hot Wing Festival and got to hang out with the coolest kids in the park- Bell Bottoms BBQ. I got to hang out with Jeff and the crew (Candi, Chrystal, Peter and Calvin), they are a friendly, funny, easy going group of people.

They have tasted victory- 1st, 2nd and 3rd- in several regional competitions and won 3rd place in the 2010 Wing Fest. Not too shabby for first year rookies.

The Wifey, the offspring and I had the honor to taste some of the wings before the judges came around and, let me tell you, they will make you wanna slap your…everyone’s grandma!

The flavor of these wings is purely decadent. They’re nice and smoky with a little heat but not overpowering. You can tell that they were cooked in a smoker and sauced and cooked again to lock in the taste and give them a crunch- so when you take a bite you can feel a party of flavors playing the congas in your mouth.

Bell Bottoms BBQ will be at Memphis in May this year. If their BBQ is half as good as their wings I’m sure they’ll be standing on the stage at the end of the week.

I don’t know what you did this past weekend, but I made new friends, got to live out a little dream of mine and ate some of the best wings I’ve ever tasted. Don’t be jealous, there’s always next year.

6 thoughts on “Make Pork Not War

  1. You forgot my brief moment of babysitting victory…. 😉 So glad ya’ll got to come!!! 🙂

  2. Wish I could have been there! Photos are great. Now I’m hungry!

  3. We enjoyed having ya’ll visit. Hope to see you at Memphis In May BBQ. Thank you for the kind words.

    • Well Jeff, it was great to meet you and hang with you guys, not to mention it was cool to meet someone that follows the blog.
      Will do my best to make it to Memphis in May BBQ, but even if I don’t I wish you the best of luck.

Leave a Reply

