Peanut Shoppe

World, meet Ridda the 5th owner of The Peanut Shoppe in downtown Memphis. I remember walking by there at night and thinking they weren’t open any more but they are still open.

After talking to him for a while I learned a lot of cool stuff. The shop was one of Planter’s Stores, yes they had stores all over, when Planters decided to go big into stores they started to close down shops. Now there are only 7 peanut shoppes in the country and Memphis has 2 of them.
The shop has been open for 62 years and Ridda has owned it for 18+ years. He has all kinds of peanuts, cashews, walnuts, chocolate covered, banana chips and it all looks so good. I even got to try some fresh salted cashew halves (they were still warm) and it was great, better that the canned stuff.

When I asked about the huge machine with Mr. Peanut on top and the answer I got was “that’s THE peanut roaster” and my next question was dumb yet the answer he game me was just awesome…Me: Does it work?, Him: Do I need to get the shotgun?, didn’t I tell you this is THE peanut roaster, of course it works and its 82 years old…(before I could say anything else, he says) YES 82. It had peanut stuff from that morning still on it, I guess I should have known better.

If you are ever in town or downtown, swing by the Peanut Shoppe and talked to Ridda, he is there Monday thru Saturday 9:30 am to 5 pm at 24 South Main.

5 thoughts on “Peanut Shoppe

  1. I sure do miss this place. Thanks for the blog post. (((hugs)))

  2. the one on summer was one of my first jobs…lasted for a day and a half 😉 i got to use the peanut machine, and dress up like the mr. peanut and stand outside and wave cars in. i never knew there was one downtown, cool! thanks for sharing!

  3. Now that was a good post. I enjoyed that, and great photos. Catches the place really nice.

Leave a Reply

