Cemetery Walk

In my random walks around Memphis and the stuff I see around I went to the cemetery one morning. I went to Elmwood Cemetery.

This cemetery is very interesting. From the people that are buried there to the statues around the place.

IMG_4154editlogo

In 1870 Elmwood became one of the oldest nonprofits in Tennessee. Since then, Elmwood Cemetery has become the final resting place to over 75,000 inhabitants including mayors, governors, madams, blues singers, suffragists, martyrs, generals, civil rights leaders, holy men and women, outlaws and millionaires.

IMG_4144editlogo

Besides all the fun people underground here I love all the creepy statues. They do a tour for $10 that I will try soon so I can learn more about the cemetery.

Leave a Reply

